Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze

Colour therapy: wearing green clothing (Part One)

If you’ve been reading my posts in the last few weeks, you’ll know I’ve been discussing the impact we make on others when we choose to wear certain colours. So far we’ve been looking at the warm magnetic colours and seen how wearing red clothes puts you in the driver’s seat, wearing orange enhances the feel-good factor and wearing yellow clothes puts you in the limelight, attracting lots of attention to you.

Me in my new green jacket

Today we’re putting the spotlight on green. Now green is in the middle of the visible colour spectrum and is neither magnetic nor electric (cooling colours). It has a very neutral effect and is definitely the choice you want to make to bring balance into your life.It might interest you to know that our eyes can only perceive of a very tiny portion of the electro-magnetic spectrum and these waves are what we know as colour.

Let’s have a look then at what the colour green signifies to people you interact with. Most importantly people are likely to feel safe around you and at the same time the colour  helps you feel more protected and at ease with others. This colour takes the bite out of other more dominant colours in play, restoring a calmness and a restorative element.

Wearing green clothing you are likely to be more successful in negotiating and mediating and children respond favourably to adults wearing this colour. If you were wearing lots of cold blue tones, you could add a green accessory to take away that coolness and others might find you more approachable.

It’s also a colour that is linked with the heart, as is pink, oddly enough. I’m going to be taking a look at chakra colours at some later point but for now suffice to say that wearing natural spring green shades can have a very healing effect on you.

The other correlation that is fascinating is green being symbolic of wealth. Taking that a step further, we can talk of green symbolising our self-worth, the extent to which we love and accept ourselves. So all in all this is a very interesting colour to reflect on.

Now interestingly, I never usually wear green clothes a lot. Again, because I believe I don’t look very good in it. My complexion comes alive when I wear bright, vibrant colours. However….just recently I was at the January sales and picked up a dark green jacket. Or rather, my son asked me to try it on. It fitted and looked good, so I just had to bring it home. And I’m sure you’ll agree that it doesn’t look that shabby on me either.

I believe very strongly that the colours you need at any particular point migrate towards you, so right now, green is definitely doing it’s work, helping me find balance and breaking down my limiting beliefs around money. Watch out for the next post on green, where I’ll have a look at some of these points in more detail and discuss some of the different shades.

In the meantime I’d love to hear how you feel about wearing green clothes. Is it a colour you are naturally drawn to, or does it not any place in your wardrobe?

January 28, 2011 - Posted by | COLOURS | , , , , ,

24 Comments »

  1. First of all,Fiona, you look darling in that coat! Absolutely love the shot of color that the scarf adds, and really like the green.

    When I was growing up, my mother decided that blue was my color (because I have blue eyes) and green was my sister’s color (she had green eyes!) I never, ever wore green and assumed I “couldn’t” wear it. Finally, as an adult (and not too early in my adulthood!) I experimented with green and discovered that I could look good in certain shades and I felt really good in it. I have a dark green shirt that I layer over a shirt with a lighter, brighter color. When I saw this shirt it really spoke to me, and that was the beginning of my understanding that green could be one of my colors.

    Love this series!

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer

    Comment by Judy Stone-Goldman | January 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for that lovely feedback Judy.

      It’s interesting how parents often do that based on eye colour. And yes, to some extent, our colouring determines what we look good in, but there’s so much scope for experimenting with different coloured clothing. I’m really glad to tried out green yourself. Combining different shades and bringing in accents of complimentary shades is exciting and can open doors to new looks. You know, if my my mum had done the same as yours, I would have been dressed in only brown clothes….

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 29, 2011 | Reply

  2. Well… I guess I must wear green today. I suggest many color combos to my clients, but had never put purple and green together like that. It’s gorgeous! Thanks for new insight.

    Comment by JuliAnn Stitick | January 29, 2011 | Reply

    • You’re welcome. Always glad to inspire. Whatever you’re doing today, enjoying being in green and go for it! Thanks a lot for commenting.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 29, 2011 | Reply

  3. I’m a new member in the Blogging To Learn group and I have to say the ideas here on this post are ones that I have never considered.

    My husband often tells me what colors I “should” wear which are different than what I would normally choose. I’ve been buying more of the pastel colors that he likes because I want to please him and I don’t really mind, he’s the one that has to look at me all the time, lol!

    Comment by Mimi | January 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Mimi. Pleased to meet you. I’m glad some of these ideas are new – something fresh to think about. It’s so important for us to wear the colours that we find pleasing so that we can be our best. Try looking at yourself more in the mirror and see what you think of the pastel tones. Go on, try some vibrant shades and see they look!

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 29, 2011 | Reply

  4. Fiona, what a wonderful idea – a colour series! I’m going to go back and read the others. I love green! And you’re right, I look for shades that bring out my hazel eyes. I don’t have much green in my wardrobe right now, too easy to pull on a black or brown tee shirt. Need to put more energy into finding it. And I love that you took a chance on the coat – it’s fabulous! My husband is of Irish descent, so green is important in our house.

    Comment by jeannieshea | January 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks a lot for stopping by Jeannie. I like to encourage people to stop and make conscious decisions about the colours they wear. And yes, it is so easy just to go for what is quick and simple. Ha, the Irish touch. Yes, they like their green. So much rain and lush undergrowth! We lived there for 3 years. The Emerald Isle.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 29, 2011 | Reply

  5. I love reading about colors and how they affect your mood, others’s moods when you wear them, etc. It’s funny, but I go through periods when I don’t even think of green, and others when I am attracted to it. I think you look wonderful in your green coat, especially with the accent scarf! Right now, I am in that phase of being attracted to green, but I don’t have much green in my wardrobe, and when I have gone out shopping recently have not seen green out there except for some shades of chartreuse which don’t look good on me at all! I need darker, forest greens. I am enjoying this color series and am going to invite my daughter to read these, too. Look forward to your next post!

    Comment by Donna McCord | January 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Donna, thanks for your comments. I’m glad you’re enjoying this series. It’s fun to dig into this subject and there’s so much to talk about. The next post will be on its way very soon.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 31, 2011 | Reply

  6. The jacket with the scarf looks fabulous on you! I am drawn to petrol green and funny that you just write about it because all my recent paintings are green.
    I am craving green a lot because it reminds me of forests and we don’t have any here, trees give me balance and a comforting, warm and protected feeling,
    Franziska
    @FlavorDesigns

    Comment by Franziska San Pedro | February 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Franziska

      This jacket was a real find. And a first in green for me. So I definitely need it in my life right now. I’m not surprised that you feel protected with green because that’s exactly what it does. Do post some pics of you in your favourite green clothes! Thanks for commenting.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | February 2, 2011 | Reply

  7. Colors are so important. I love green. and its fascinating to hear about the meaning behind the colors. You look lovely in your green coat Fiona. One of the biggest changers in my business is color, whether its adding a pillow or painting the walls. Color has an incredible effect on how people feel about their space.

    Jennifer Duchene
    Home Makeover Mixtress blending lifestyle and laughter
    http://LYShome.com

    Comment by Jennifer Duchene | February 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Jen. And yes the choice of colour determines how the space comes alive doesn’t it? And you are such a master at doing that with your amazingly creative home makeover work.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | February 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for adding your comments Jen. I’m so with you on that one. Colours can really make or break a space. It must be such fun for you helping people to feel at home with colour.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | February 5, 2011 | Reply

  8. I have one green item in my whole wardrobe and it’s not a dissimilar green to your coat. I rarely wear the color but my one item drew me to it as your coat did. Odd seeing as we are both winters. I’m a purple girl so nice to see that I can wear my one item with my fave color. Blue and green must never be seen – now that’s what I used to be told when I was young and since I like many blues I wonder if that subconsciously put me off green….. even though it’s a load of rubbish in my eyes.
    Louise Edington
    Facing Fears For Freedom
    http://louiseedington.com.

    Comment by Louise Edington | February 4, 2011 | Reply

    • Great to hear about your experience with green was similar to mine. I’m like you and love purple and I really think that it’s fabulous with gree regardless of what type we are. I had to smile when you mentioned ‘Blue and green..’ and already have a blog post in my head to dig in there and have some fun. It’s so true that our subconscious plays a large part in what we think looks good and what doesn’t. Thanks for your comments Louise.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | February 5, 2011 | Reply

  9. So happy to have found you, this article.. and as far as green.. I wear it when I want to bring out the green in my eyes and to be “neutral”. Color therapy interests me very much. My husband and I just discussed the differnt shades of green in his art and it’s influence. My preference of other colors with greens depends on the shades, but going towards the earthy shades (khaki)I like red.. deep red – burgandy.
    love your silk mandalas 🙂

    Comment by doegrozart | February 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Lovely to hear from you and thanks for your comments. I’m sure green can beautifully reflect green eyes which are quite unusual. It really is a very neutral colour and can help you to feel safe and secure. Deep red and burgundy sound fabulous. It’s great to hear how everyone relates.

      And thanks for your compliment about my mandala work. Do keep in touch. I’ll be writing more.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | February 5, 2011 | Reply

  10. You look beautiful in the green coat and & pink scarf. I am hesitant to walk up to other artist and start a conversation with them. However, you are totally approachable. I love any “intense” pink…& flamingos. My students have brought flamingos from all over the world for my collection! Thank you for sharing this! It was wonderful.

    Comment by dolphinity | February 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks a lot for your comments. I’m glad you enjoyed it. You’re so welcome to join in the dialogue and share your ideas. I like intense pinks too. And you have a flamingo collection, sounds fascinating. What do you teach?

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | February 5, 2011 | Reply

  11. […] had actually been planning to write a second part to my post on wearing green clothing, however things have taken a different turn and although I’m still on the topic of green, I […]

    Pingback by Blue and Green Should Never be Seen…or was it Red and Green? « Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze | February 6, 2011 | Reply

  12. […] any place in your wardrobe?Colour therapy: wearing green clothing (Part One) « Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze If you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it! Tagged with: clothes • colour […]

    Pingback by Colour therapy: wearing green clothing (Part One) « Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze | My Chakra | February 17, 2011 | Reply

  13. […] Therapy: wearing green clothing (Part 2) I wrote a little while back about the significance of wearing green clothing and promised to get back with some further thoughts on the […]

    Pingback by Colour Therapy: wearing green clothing (Part 2) « Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze | February 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

