Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze

The Psychology of Colour: Wearing Yellow Clothes (Part One)

What a perfect day for writing about yellow clothes! It’s grey, really overcast and the rain is pouring down. But, as we all know, the sun is still there up above the clouds, shining in its full glory. We just can’t see it from where we are standing.

And that’s what the colour yellow is all about. It is pure sunshine, packed radiance to lighten up your day. So go on, have a look in your wardrobe and count how many items of clothing you have in yellow…4 or 5?…..1 or 2?……or none at all? Well, I have to admit that I belong to the ‘none at all’s’. Because I have a belief that I’m not a ‘yellow person’.

It’s one of those colours that I like on other people but just don’t fancy myself. You’ve probably got your favourites, too.ย  However, all of the colours in the visible light spectrum are there for a reason and their energy can be harnessed to improve all aspects of your life. You can quite literally empower yourself with colour. And yellow is no exception. It’s a warm magnetic colour like red and orange but has it’s very own unique flavour.

Let’s have a look then at what happens when you choose to wear yellow.

Sunshine yellow: You’re actually sending out a signal of joy and happiness, letting people know that you are a fun person who delights in theย  pleasures of life. It can also indicate that you have a very warm nature and are easily approachable.

Lemon yellow: This shows those around you that you are a bit of a left-brainer, a person who likes tidiness and organisation. It’s a great colour to help accent some darker shades, particularly grey and give a real lift to your outfit. This shade can signal to others that you can be counted on.

But no matter which shade you choose, wearing yellow makes you very conspicuous and so if you are feeling like you need a bit of space and peace and quiet, yellow might not be the wisest of choices.

So why don’t some of us have any yellow in our wardrobes I hear you ask. Well, that’s a very good question and one I’m going to talk to you a bit more about tomorrow. But before I share any further insights on this colour, I’d love to hear if yellow is your colour and why you love wearing it. And for the rest of today I’m off to bring a little yellow into my life and see what difference the psychology of colour makes in my life.

January 12, 2011 - Posted by | COLOURS | , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I still reference your “psychology of wearing orange” article in conversation from time to time. This is really interesting and inspiring! Thanks for sharing!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Joanna | January 12, 2011 | Reply

    • That’s really sweet of you, Joanna. Glad you enjoyed this one too. Watch out for the next part.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. Nice, you’re doing a color series, too!
    My sister’s favorite color is yellow -I was never much into it until I discovered that cold yellow really looks good on me, ever since I like to mix yellow and grey. Warm sister definitely has a warm nature!

    Franziska

    Comment by Franziska San Pedro | January 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Franziska. I started this short series a while back and have now returned to it. It’s good to hear that your yellow-loving sister has a warm nature. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 12, 2011 | Reply

  3. I must admit that I rarely wear yellow. Like you, I don’t think I’m really a “yellow” person (w/skin tone, not personality:) )

    I am however drinking tea from a bright yellow mug (with painting of silly kitties) and it makes me smile ๐Ÿ™‚ warm in so many ways!

    looking forward to your next post –
    Heidi & Atticus
    http://www.atticusuncensored.com
    “commentary to give you paws…”

    Comment by heidi alberti & atticus | January 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Nice. Thanks for that feedback Heidi. Warm yellow really can make us smile, can’t it?

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 12, 2011 | Reply

  4. Fiona I love the psychology of color. So fascinating and actually I love yellow in a room on walls. But I dont think I ever wear yellow. I dont like it on me. But I enjoy having it around me. Cant wait to read the next part.

    Jennifer Duchene
    Home Makeover Mixtress
    http://home-decorating-makeovers.com/

    Comment by Jennifer Duchene | January 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Jen, Interestingly I love warm yellows on walls, too, but wont wear it! It’s certainly a fascinating subject, isn’t it?

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  5. […] Psychology of Colour: Wearing Yellow Clothes (Part two) I spoke in yesterday’s post on wearing yellow clothes about the signals you send to other people when you choose to wear yellow. And I promised to get […]

    Pingback by The Psychology of Colour: Wearing Yellow Clothes (Part two) « Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  6. Yellow does it for me, its an amazingly quick & simple way to lift your mood.

    Comment by nikifulton | January 17, 2011 | Reply

    • Great to hear that Niki. It is such a mood lifter! Thanks for stopping by.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

