Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze

Finding the Balance Retrospectively – Nothing was Missing in 2010

Tomorrow is New Year’s Eve and I’m taking the time to sit and reflect on how 2010 has been for me.  Many of my friends in the blogging world have published highlights of the past 12 months together with insights they gleaned and this has inspired me to take a look at what my year offered.

I was going to summarize what I perceived as my successful moments as well as those I reckoned really weren’t anything to write home about. But when I began to zoom in on how things were for me, I got the distinct feeling that it hadn’t been all that good at all and wondered if I really wanted to write about it all.

So my first thought was that I would just skip it, claiming that I ran out of time and then no-one would give it a second thought. I would get by unnoticed. What a cop-out.

I decided that I was important enough to be accountable to. So for that reason, being accountable to myself, I’m going to share with you some of the things  I came up with.

  • Firstly a bunch of unprofitable craft fairs that I took part in but ended up asking myself why I had gone there in the first place.
  • Then we had to navigate a spell of visits by potential buyers of the house we are living in at the moment as tenants
  • There was a police incident with one of my sons who was ‘jumped’ by a mob at school
  • Our top stairs capsized
  • And I continued to grapple with severe insomnia and other health issues

Okay, that’s enough to be getting on with. And this is the point where I take a deep breath and know with certainty that despite how all of this looks on the surface, every single thing that has happened, has had just as many benefits as drawbacks. Here are some examples – my craft fairs were  excellent opportunities to network and see who and what else is out there. The house viewings led to me speaking out in no uncertain terms instead of just swallowing and getting on with things. You can read about it here: ‘Bringing Thoughts, Words and Actions into Alignment.’

The beating up opened up new avenues for us getting help for our son and 2011 will mean more support for him in school. The capsizing stairs brought more awareness around the steps I was taking as well as ensuring that jobs were done adequately and safely. And the continuing health story has helped me to see where I need to let go and surrender and confront my inner demons.

And already I can fully see that I am on track and always have been. The same applies to everything else that happened this year and last year and every year before that.

The thoughts and longings for things I think I didn’t have or didn’t achieve now come to mind, too. But as I contemplate each of them, I can see that they did indeed manifest, just not in the form that I was expecting. But they were there. Whenever I think about me being less successful than I had hoped, I remind myself of comments I received on Facebook, my newsletter or in emails, phonecalls or face to face. All those wonderful people who sit and watch and enjoy quietly  in the background and then step forward to share their appreciation at the most unexpected moments. I have no way of truly knowing what appreciation there is for who I am or what I do. I have no way of really knowing how many people’s lives I have touched in a meaningful way. And the same is true for all of us.

The recognition that nothing is ever missing is what centres me and brings me back to the present. Just knowing that everything is in perfect balance at all times.  I think that this is agood  reason to celebrate 2010 as the best year yet, just like every one before it. And it is with this strength that I step into 2011. The only goal I need to set is to be myself.

On that note I’d like to wish us all a wonderful year ahead of being ourselves and having our best year yet.

December 30, 2010 - Posted by | INSPIRATIONS | , , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. Thank you for sharing this Fiona. Doing an end of year audit is a great way to start a new year. Many people felt like 2010 wasnt a great year yet you have demonstrated the blessings in a beautiful way. Thank You. Happy New Year! xx

    Comment by Nichola Burton | December 30, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you, too. And you’re so welcome Nicki. I just wanted to say thanks for all the insightful posts you’ve shared over the past year. I’ve really enjoyed reading them all. A happy new year to you too. xx

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | December 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. Fiona, I loved learning more about you, although I’m sorry you had some of those more difficult experiences this year. I did not know you suffered from insomnia and health issues–I’ve gone through some miserable periods of insomnia, and I don’t feel like I can fully “rely on” sleep to be there for me. I appreciate how fears and upsets about sleep can overshadow life. This has been my best health year after several challenging ones, and I will send all good energy for you to continue forward in your quest for the best health.
    You may feel you are struggling to find your way, but I can assure you that you are definitely ON your way! I am so grateful our paths have crossed. {{hugs for 2011}} Judy

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer

    Comment by Judy Stone-Goldman | December 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Judy, i’m so glad to hear that your health has improved and thank you for supporting me on my path towards wonderful health. And I’m grateful too that our paths have crossed . xxx

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 1, 2011 | Reply

  3. I Love your honesty, Fiona! Good and bad… we’ve all experienced those emotions in the past 12 months. It’s a comforting feeling that we have each other, in the blogger community, to share our stories with. I’d like to think that as “bystanders” we encourage, support and motivate each other. I certainly find that to be true.
    Thanks for all the terrific reads these past months! Look forward to many more in the new year
    Heidi & Atti

    Comment by heidi alberti & atticus | December 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you too Heidi. I think you’re so right. Support in a community can never be underestimated, can it? It’s like a life-line in a way. I too am looking forward to more of this sharing. xx

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. So glad you didn’t cop out and gave us more of a glimpse into Fiona. I am very much enjoying you becoming part of our little ‘gang’ and being yourself is key to everything!
    Louise Edington
    Facing Fears and Frontiers For Freedom
    http://louiseedington.com

    Comment by Louise Edington | January 1, 2011 | Reply

  5. :-))) Thank you Louise. Abd how fabulous to have a ‘gang’ of friends who also love blogging. Luxury! xxx

    Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 1, 2011 | Reply

  6. 2010 brought you into my life! That’s one of the things I am very grateful for. I enjoy reading your blog, having you as an FB friend and getting to know you better and your lovely artwork. Thank you for your honest review -I am looking forward to reading more 🙂
    Frohes 2011!
    Franziska

    Comment by Franziska San Pedro | January 4, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks so much Franziska. I’m so glad you enjoy my work. I’m really grateful too that you came along and are sharing what you do with me.

      Frohes neues Jahr wuensche ich Dir auch!! x

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 4, 2011 | Reply

  7. tweeted your post! Great ex. of assessing the things that go wrong in your life!

    Comment by Tisa Yonts | January 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Tisa, Great to hear you appreciated my post and thanks for tweeting! x

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 5, 2011 | Reply

  8. Dear Fiona, what a treat that you shared so much of yourself and your life with us, and that you are so honest. Life is full of ups and downs and lessons learned, sometimes taking reflection is really what helps us to put it all in perspective. Sounds so moldy and corny to say things happen for a reason, but they do. I am so glad I have had this opportunity to meet you, and that you have joined our band of merry bloggers!

    Jennifer Duchene
    Home Makeover Mixtress
    http://home-decorating-makeovers.com

    Comment by Jennifer Duchene | January 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Jen, for coming on my page and leaving your comments. Everything truly serves a purpose. I’m so glad to have met you too and the rest of the Blogger Monday gang and am really enjoyed all of your wonderful blog posts. x

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 5, 2011 | Reply

  9. I found this post from Ann Evanston’s tweet, and am so glad I clicked on it. Profoundly, unflinchingly, honest and thoughtfully written. I admire your courage. I expect I’ll read this more than once.

    Comment by Jeannie Shea | January 5, 2011 | Reply

  10. Thanks so much for your feedback. And I’m thrilled that you followed through on Ann’s tweet. It’s lovely to meet you and hope you keep connected. x

    Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 5, 2011 | Reply

  11. Fiona,

    I love that you took what some may have just viewed as negative aspects to 2010 and saw the positive elements to them. I also love the beautiful picture you included too, so peaceful and serene…..

    Annette and Snoopy 🙂
    http://www.snoopysdogblog.com

    Comment by Annette and Snoopy | January 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you. And I took the picture in our local park just after sunset. The sky turned such a beautiful colour. I agree, it feels very serene.

      Comment by Fiona Stolze | January 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

