Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze

Stretcher Systems – or Silk Painting Frames

I’ve been doing some digging and am very close to posting some info on the different types of stretcher systems available for silk painters. Just for clarity, stretcher systems are what the North Americans refer to and silk painting frames may be more familiar to other shores. šŸ™‚

Today I was browsing in the Screwfix catalogue for plastic tubing. My husband has it lying around here because he orders lots of bits and pieces for his DIY work. But during our recent Silk Painters’ Skype Chat one of my silk painting colleagues, Janet, recommended I look in the catalogue for plastic tubing which I could use as a frame.

Well,we found it, worked out what I would need to get started and placed an order this afternoon. It’s due to arrive on Tuesday which is really fast! So I’m now looking forward to trying out this system and will definitely post my findings here on the blog for you to have a look at.

There are so many systems that you can try out, so I’ll be taking time to look at a few of them and see what works and what doesn’t work so well with each one.

Looking forward to reporting back. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

 

November 14, 2010 - Posted by | STRETCHER SYSTEMS / SILK PAINTING FRAMES | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Fiona,
    thank you very much for your compliment on my work!
    Btw – I hate to work on a stretcher frame when I am painting on silk (and not only on silk) – I work on a very large acrylic plate – 100 x 100 cm – and before I start painting I fuse the silk to a very light poly batting which gives the silk enough stability to work on (as I do only large paintings which will be framed later on). The plate itself is mounted in a sloping position on a table. This way I can move the silk in any direction and can comfortably work on it while sitting.

    Warm greetings from Munich,
    Petra

    Comment by petra voegtle | November 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hi Petra

    Nice to see you here. Thanks for sharing how you do your paintings. I love the debate about the frames (or stretcher systems) as all the silk painters out there have their preferred methods. I’m aiming to present as many of them as possible.

    That’s interesting that you fuse the silk onto the poly batting. When I do my large paintings, I just pin the silk onto a wooden frame and walk around a large table to do my work. Here’s one of the larger mandalas I’ve done – https://fionastolze.wordpress.com/2010/04/28/painting-a-silk-mandala-as-a-slow-meditation-nourishment-for-the-soul/

    Nice to see we have the German connection. I lived there for 18 years. Lovely to meet you. šŸ™‚

    Comment by Fiona Stolze | November 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

