Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze

What Silk Painting Topic Would You Love Me to Write About?

It’s great to get feedback from all of you lovely readers. Often I get emails thanking me for specific help I have given on the various topics looked at in this blog. Wherever I can, I like to deal with queries here in this space so that the maximum number of readers can benefit from what I write.

But today I have some questions for all of you. So that I can maximise the help I give you in your silk painting adventures, it makes sense to know on a regular basis what it is that you are wanting to hear about and know more on. And here we go:

What would you most like me to write posts about in order to give you ongoing support in silk painting?

What particular issues do you have the most difficulty with in silk painting and which ones almost put you off keeping going – please share these with me.

Is there anything in my particular area of expertise that you would like me to share with you in this space?

I would love to hear from you below. Please add any comments you have, ask any questions you may have and make any suggestions you’d like to. I’ll be glad to help in any way I can.

September 26, 2010 - Posted by | MANDALA ART | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Thanks for all of your ideas. Keep walking, I will alway stay here.

    Comment by Jirud | September 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. Please talk about stretcher systems. Which ones are the best to purchase. I have just started working in silk and need some good web sites and how to’s. What do you suggest as far as sites and books.

    Also, do you ever come to the US to teach workshops? I live in Houston, Texas, USA. Silk painting is not as popular as it is in the UK.

    Comment by Karen Jankiewicz | September 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Karen

      Thanks for you questions and comments. Yes, of course I’d be glad to write about stretcher systems. I have just added that to my list and hope to post something soon.

      Sites and books: let me have a think about what I would recommend. Perhaps it’s time for me a compile a list of my favourites which I could publish on my site.

      I don’t come to the US to teach yet, Karen. I had the pleasure of a visit to Houston two years ago when I did a facilitator training with Dr. John Demartini who was in The Secret. I am considering offering an online silk painting course which you could take part in anywhere on the globe.

      Karen, if you’d like to keep up to date with what I post on this site, why not subscribe to the blog. Go to the top right of this page and add your email address for all notifications. You can also receive my Silk & Art newsletter which has lots of processes, photos and tips in it.

      You can also join various silk painting forums on the net free of charge. My favourite is http://silkpaintinggallery.ning.com

      Hope this helps. Keep in touch.
      Warm wishes
      Fiona

      Comment by Fiona | September 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. Do you wash out your silks when you’re finished? A lot of times when I do I lose color. I did this weekend, even after 3 hours steaming (sennelier). I didn’t use hot, but lukewarm, trying to wash out a bit of soy wax and now I have a washed out piece. Other times it’s fine, but not this time!

    And for Karen in Houston…I have a friend who teaches silk painting in Houston, if you’re interested I can pass her name along to you.

    Comment by Mandi | October 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Mandi,

      Thanks for your question.It’s one of the most-asked questions in silk painting. And it’s a real pain in the neck when your lovely work fades. I have discussed many aspects of steaming and the subsequent bleeding of dye in various posts but I can pull them all together into one post for ease. This problem can be sorted so that you don’t have to worry over every steaming session.

      In a nutshell, when the dye washes out leaving your silk looking faded after 3 hours of steaming, it could well be a matter of the temperature of the steamer during the process. If it is not hot enough and the temperature not maintained properly, the steaming doesn’t happen optimally.

      If you have a thermostat, check that it is set properly, high enough. I don’t know if you have a home-made steamer or a shop bought one with built in thermostat.

      Browse this blog and look at the comments after the posts on steaming. There are some hints there which you can pick up.

      Feel free to give me some more information and we’ll see how this can be sorted.

      Warm wishes
      Fiona :-)x

      Comment by Fiona | October 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. I just wanted to leave a message here that I have been discussing different systems with other artists and will be publishing something very soon now. I have also ordered a new type of frame for myself which will hopefully be arriving on Tuesday 16th November. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂 x

    Comment by Fiona | November 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

