Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze

Help – No Feedback!

If you’re at all like me you probably have lots of outlets scattered over the internet for all your lovely handiwork. Almost all of them have some sort of system whereby satisfied customers can leave feedback for you as well as you being able to leave feedback for them. It all helps to make us accountable and build trust.

I must admit, I’m one of those people that loves to leave comments for others (as if you hadn’t already noticed) and I did that again just a few days ago when someone bought one of my bright silk scarves. Okay, so the product is ready, shipped off, confirmation email sent, feedback given to them….and then what? Well, it would be nice to hear if the customer was happy with the item. I often drop them a line with the shipment saying I’d love to hear from them to let me know if they are pleased with what I’ve sent them.

But that’s not the way it always works. The truth is that not everyone gets back to let you know how happy they were with what they bought from you. Granted, you’re likely to hear very quickly if there is a complaint of any kind. But when there is customer satisfaction, we don’t always hear back.

It’s just the way it is. And this is certainly not a cue for you to go into self-judgment, doubting your abilities and feeling low. Some people are thrilled with what they’ve bought AND don’t get back. For many, many reasons. Most of which have nothing at all to do with you.

So, once again I am in that space and I know that my scarf has found a happy home and will be worn with joy. And I just happen not to have received feedback and that’s okay.

P.S. I got a huge surprise recently when I received feedback on a wonderful project my artwork had been used in. It was a coffered ceiling in the client’s bedroom with 24 silk panels with my mandalas. And that was almost a year later. So don’t ever get hung up on this. All is well. šŸ™‚

June 18, 2010 - Posted by | INSPIRATIONS | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hello, I know what you mean, I always leave feedback, asap as both a buyer and a crafter, I like people to know that I appreciate their custom and as a buyer, I like them to know how pleased and satisfied I am. It is disconcerting when you hear nothing, you start to doubt yourself and wonder if they are just not saying something rather than being negative.

    As a buyer, and I am a prolific buyer, I also have not received feedback from the people I have bought from, which I find odd and makes me wonder if they are happy I bought from them.

    Natalie x

    Comment by Natalie | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hi Natalie, thanks for your comment. That’s a really ineresting point that you’ve brought up about what me might think when we don’t get feedback. Isn’t it amazing how our minds start to make up stories to back up what is happening? Oh, this person didn’t respond so she must be dissatisfied with the item. She probably thought it was sub-standard, not what she was really looking for, blah, blah, blah….And then of course, if we presume they were pleased with what they bought, we might start to concoct stories about why they dind’t get back – she’s really thoughtless, she’s being disrespectful, etc, etc.

    However, at the end of the day, I am sure in my life I have bought things, been wonderfully satsfied with them and yet never got round to letting the person I bought it from know how much I loved their product. Because I was busy, got distracted, just plain forgot,….

    Making a mental note for myself to be mindful of the stories I make up. šŸ™‚

    Comment by Fiona | June 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

