Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze

And Here’s That Little Silk Clutch Bag I Was Talking About…

Remember I was talking about making a silk clutch bag completely from scratch? Well, here is some

Designing the silk panels

documentation sharing with you my process of putting it all together.  I had seen so many beautiful pieces on the internet but decided that if I was going to make one, then it had to be completely my own work. So I set about painting 2 panels that I could use as the outer fabric.

I chose some fairly sturdy fabric that would take a bit of wear and tear, as opposed to the usual satin and crepe qualities which I normally use and are perfect for painting on. I created a little leaf pattern using gold and silver gutta together with a mixture of blue and purple dyes.

Silk clutch bag outer and lining

After cutting panels of the correct size and backing them with vilene and wadding, I sewed them together to make a pouch. Next I made an identical pouch for the lining using a lovely copper-coloured dupioni silk. Then I mitred the corners on both the lining and the outer fabric with it’s double lining.

I sewed the two pouches together and reversed them again so that they were the right way round, ready for having the frame  glued on.

You start with the front and spread glue along the inside of the frame as

Completed silk clutch bag

well as along the top edge of the bag.  You then have to stuff the edge of the clutch bag up into the frame using a semi-sharp object. As I proceeded, I gained in confidence. At first I was a bit reluctant to be rough with the silk but then when I realised that nothing untoward was going to happen, I got stuck in (literally) with a lot more elbow grease.

And between you and me, I am very proud of the final result. Particularly since the fabric is totally unique.

So, if you happen to like this one, just let me know because I might just be able to make one for you too. Totally different of course.

Here’ s the original listing on Etsy.

June 16, 2010 - Posted by | EXPERIMENTS IN SILK | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] is a picture of what it looks like and you can read my blog post describing the process involved: “And Here’s That Little Clutch Bag I Was Talking About Earlier”.  You can see the Etsy listing of this clutch bag here and if you’d like to have one of your […]

    Pingback by Silk & Art Newsletter | Tips, Hints and Latest News from Silk & Art | » June Newsletter | June 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

