Inspired Art and Living with Fiona Stolze

Silk Painting is NOT the same as Silk Screen Printing

Ah, this is a mistake that is made by oh, so many people. I’ve lots count of how many people describe my work as silk screen printing or who land up on my blog or website looking for it and then look surprised when they discover it’s a site about silk painting. So I decided it was time to set the records straight.

Silk painting and silk screen printing are not the same thing. Nope. They are two completely different things. Sorry about that. And here are a few words of explanation to help you out.

Silk painting involves stretching a piece of silk on a frame and then painting on it with special silk dyes and gutta. The dye is then fixed into the fabric so that the silk artwork can then be framed or worn, depending on what you’ve made.

Silk screen printing has nothing whatsoever to do with the above. It is a printing technique. A finely woven fabric such as nylon or polyester is attached to a frame. In the early days of this process silk was used. Parts of the fabric on the frame are blocked out and other parts are left free. A squeegee or roller is used to push ink through the spaces onto fabric or paper underneath (substrate) and create an image.

Actually, I’m not completely telling the truth. There is one little similarity between the two. They both originated in China.

End of story.

January 5, 2010 - Posted by | INSPIRATIONS | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Silkscreen also called a serigraph. The first screens in Japan were made of woven hair. Mr. Azama, Japanese-Hawaiian, was my printmaking professor.
    He taught printmaking in California at Yuba College and his media personally was ceramics.
    Los Angeles, city in CA, was one of the first places in the USA that banned oil silk screen ink to help the environment in California. This ink was lethal to your liver just like the lacquer paints and thinner that are used in the car industry. It elevates your SGOT and SGPT blood tests to show that you have a liver problem. Go Green and use water based Silkscreen Ink…..

    Comment by Ruth Conneer | September 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks very much for this informative comment Ruth. There are just so many toxic chemicals used in everyday processes that the layman knows nothing about.
      My motiviation to post this came from countless people commenting that I did silk screen painting. I just wanted to set the record straight. 🙂

      Comment by Fiona | September 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. Your welcome, I worked on a lot of info during grad school. Ammonia fumes does damage to the brain too. I feel that people that I know get so dang tired of me esp about smoking. I am so allergic to second hand smoke. I don’t dislike smokers but cannot handle their smoke.
    Many people work for years with chemicals and all of a sudden they are sick and cough – After a street smart doctor asks the right questions and is an informed doctor – results. Doctors and workers need to get it together.
    My doctor did not know what gob dust was. A colloquial word used where there are strip mine. It is dust all over the roads, highways and where they work. Miners even strip miners get black lung. My father mined in the winter and farmed in the summer. He had parkinsons, black lung and leukemia when he passed. My mom had emphysema and never smoked a cigarette in her life. Our streams that i played in and made mud slides = the water was Orange and still is in the country where I grew up.
    Chemicals and polutants are everywhere. I just try to keep people aware. I cannot use wax and now I am going to try soy wax – thanks to you on SPIN and Blogg.. Thanks Ruthie

    Comment by Ruth Conner | September 6, 2010 | Reply

    • 🙂 Check out the comments on the posts on soya wax.

      Comment by Fiona | September 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

